St Arnaud0418 124 289
St Arnaud is located in the Wimmera region and has a rich thoroughbred racing history that dates back to the 1850's.
The St Arnaud Turf Club hosts the Weirs Supa IGA St Arnaud Cup on Cox Plate Day annually and it is an increasingly popular community event for the township.
The St Arnaud Turf Club is a not for profit organisation and is run by a large committee of passionate thoroughbred volunteers. The committee work hard to deliver the St Arnaud Cup annually and pride themselves on delivering a large scale event to the St Arnaud community & surrounding districts.
The Weir's Supa IGA St Arnaud Cup is a day not to be missed - it provides reacegoers with a unique country racing experience and has a fun, feel-good atmosphere.
ST ARNAUD TURF CLUB MEMBERSHIP
Membership of the St Arnaud Turf Club is available through the Wimmera Racing Club. As a club we value our members immensely and the financial support we recieve from membership subscriptions is invaluable.
Wimmera Racing Club Membership
A membership with the Wimmera Racing Club includes:
The Wimmera Racing Club offers the following types of membership:
Wimmera Racing Club Full Membership - $70
Wimmera Racing Club Full Membership + Guest Pass - $120
Wimmera Racing Club Corporate Membership + 4 Guest Passes - $210
Guest Passes are fully transferable and gives access to all race meetings at Wimmera Racing Club member club venues.
Memberships are available by contacting Penny Penfold on 0418 124 289 or firstname.lastname@example.org
0418 124 289
TRAVEL & ACCOMMODATION
St Arnaud Racecourse
Wimmera Hwy, St Arnaud, VIC, 3478
DISTANCE FROM MELBOURNE
244 kilometres from Melbourne along the Calder Fwy (approximately 2.45 hours travelling time).
The district around St Arnaud supports an agricultural industry of sheep grazing, grains and wineries, with forested areas to the south and open Mallee plains to the north.
The town centre features many well-preserved historic buildings and a generous number of pubs in its main thoroughfare of Napier Street, many with wide verandahs and ornate cast-iron lacework. The town's historic precinct, along Napier Street between Millett Street and Inkerman Street, features the old post office (built in 1866), court house (1866) and Victoria's oldest fire station (1883) which now serves as a fire brigade museum.
A number of attractive gardens exist in St Arnaud's town centre, including the Queen Mary Gardens with its pond and exotic trees, and the Market Square gardens adjacent to the council offices. Pioneer Park and Lord Nelson Park offer a range of sporting and recreational facilities. The town's last mine, the Lord Nelson, operated within these parks and there is a lookout atop Wilsons Hill which is honeycombed with mine shafts.
Approximately 23 kilometres south of St Arnaud is the small community of Stuarts Mill where gold was first discovered in 1861. A few churches and old buildings remain from its mining days.
Motel St Arnaud 03 5495 1755
Country Road Motel St Arnaud 03 5495 2255
St Arnaud Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast 03 5495 3295